NewsJunkiePost Implicated in Computer Hacking to Breach DiggPatriots Yahoo Group

On August 2, 2010, I did a little one-off political piece for another blogsite, The Rattington Post. The article got posted to Digg, and one of the comments came from Digguser Novenator, who writes for the NewsJunkiePost as Ole Ole Olsen. His response, found here, was as follows:

I replied “At your service, sir,” to let him know that, yes, this R.J. author was, indeed, on Digg. In fact, I was using the Digg ID of CaptCarrot, although my name wasn’t a closely guarded secret, seeing as how my profile page linked to this blog, The-Trades.com, and to the Amazon pages of my books. But somehow, on August 2, Novenator did not know who I was.

So what’s the point? I’ll get to that in a moment.

On August 3, 2010, the YTV (YouTube Vigilantes) posted a video on YouTube which painted me as a “cyberterrorist” who “stalks rape victims” and “urges suicidal teens” to “go through with it.” (The YTV hasn’t been too happy with me since the initial publication of my YouTube: Pedophile Playground article.) The video was titled “Who is RJ Carter (aka CaptCarrot on Digg).”

Less than a day later, the NewsJunkiePost published an anonymous article, embedding this same video with a few paragraphs of imprecatory text. I responded by retaining an attorney, who submitted a Cease and Desist letter to Dolores Bernal, the registered owner of the domain and co-founder with Gilbert Mercier. The response from the NewsJunkiePost was a follow-up article about how they respond to threats and intimidation. (On a comical note, I posted a comment to the article asking about the Cease and Desist letter, to which co-founder Gilbert Mercier replied, stating they had not received such a letter… so what, exactly, was this article a response to? But I digress.)

Yeah, yeah, another Internet libel case. They’re a dime a dozen. So what? Patience. I’m getting to that.

The next day, August 5, Ole Ole Olsen publishes his expose’ on a Yahoo Group, the DiggPatriots, of which I was — and still am — a member. His problem was that members of this conservative group of Digg users would not only ask for support for their own submissions, but would also draw attention to articles which the person felt deserved burying.

Olsen claimed the investigation had gone on for months. He listed me as what he considered one of the prime offenders.

Months of investigation. I was a prime offender. And just two days prior, he didn’t know who I was.

Something didn’t add up — because all of my messages to the DiggPatriots group were sent from my Gmail account — which is my name — and includes my automatic signature — also my name. There was no confusion at all that CaptCarrot was R.J. carter.

Olsen later began to minimize his role in the investigation, crediting others — including, by name, the YTV. He’s never made a claim as to exactly how long he was involved in the investigation himself. I would posit he was a part of it for three days. I believe that, shortly after asking his question, he was approached by the YTV with all the information on the DiggPatriots group, which would be given him in exchange for using the NewsJunkiePost to give their video traction.

Whatever the reason, Olsen’s first article was soon followed up, albeit it not at Alternet. The remaining articles went to the NewsJunkiePost. Eventually, it seemed necessary to write an article explaining how he had come by the information, after having reprinted many of the private email messages from the group. According to Olsen, and now Sam Pennington, who claimed credit for writing the original anonymous cyberterrorism article, an unnamed member of the DiggPatriots had become unhappy with the group, and decided to begin forwarding all the messages to the investigative team.

There’s only one problem with that story: In the article, they decided to produce screencaps of the membership list of the group — a list that could only be accessed by someone who was inside the group. Several sequential images followed, each of them trimmed down to show just the membership information.

Each of them… but one.

CLICK TO ENLARGE

Apparently whoever was responsible for cropping the images got lazy, and one of the pages slipped past them — and suddenly it became very clear how Olsen and the YTV had acquired all their inside information on the DiggPatriots. They had compromised my Yahoo password and were using that access to download everything from the group. This image, published at the NewsJunkiePost, clearly showed a violation of U.S.C. §2701, Unlawful Access to Stored Communications, which states that anyone who… “intentionally accesses without authorization … an electronic communication service …and thereby obtains, alters, or prevents authorized access to a wire or electronic communication while it is in electronic storage in such system shall be punished.”

Within 24 hours, the image was pulled and replaced with a cropped image removing the identifying information.

Of course, I’ve changed my passwords.

I’ve also filed a complaint with IC3, and have given all the information to my local FBI field office. One of my New Year’s resolutions for 2011 is to follow this up vigorously.

Updates to come.

UPDATE

As Ole Ole Olsen has claimed that I have somehow altered the image showing the NewsJunkiePost having access to my Yahoo account, the image at left shows the screen in the context of the NJP article. This is a large image, and you will have to scroll down to the fourth page of DiggPatriots membership, where you will see the image of the uncropped Firefox browser with Tor IP-masking extensions.

19 Responses to NewsJunkiePost Implicated in Computer Hacking to Breach DiggPatriots Yahoo Group

  1. rightwingattila says:

    Merry Christmas RJ! And here’s to a Happy New Year!!

  2. […] a Digg Patriots member posted about his counter investigation and lawsuit entitled ”NewsJunkiePost Implicated in Computer Hacking to Breach DiggPatriots Yahoo Group” wherein he shows a screencap image posted in one of the early Digg Patriots exposes showing […]

  3. rjwusa says:

    FTA: “…Apparently whoever was responsible for cropping the images got lazy, and one of the pages slipped past them — and suddenly it became very clear how Olsen and the YTV had acquired all their inside information on the DiggPatriots. They had compromised my Yahoo password and were using that access to download everything from the group. This image, published at the NewsJunkiePost, clearly showed a violation of U.S.C. §2701, Unlawful Access to Stored Communications, which states that anyone who… “intentionally accesses without authorization … an electronic communication service …and thereby obtains, alters, or prevents authorized access to a wire or electronic communication while it is in electronic storage in such system shall be punished…”

    Just wanted to be sure the the guilty parties are able to ‘review’ the above quoted text from the article, so that they understand that they broke the law.

    • R.J. Carter says:

      That’s also why I added the larger image to the bottom of the article, showing the screencap in its context to the other images from the NewsJunkiePost piece.

  4. Yes, Virginia, there is a Santa Claus! Beautiful RJ, BEAUTIFUL!

  5. bett says:

    Great article RJ. It is so clear the law has been broken and WHO has the evidence and WHO is claiming they did not break the law.

  6. NewsJunkiePost Implicated in Computer Hacking to Breach DiggPatriots Yahoo Group « R.J. Carter’s Line in the Sand…

    NewsJunkiePost Implicated in Computer Hacking to Breach DiggPatriots Yahoo Group « R.J. Carter’s Line in the Sand…

  7. Harvester1 (Melissa) says:

    Way to go, RJ! I was off-line for a month while moving to Texas and got back on to find Novenator’s hateful rants were taking over Digg. Delighted you were able to expose his illegal and highly unethical conduct. Keep it up, and a Merry Christmas to you!

  8. 4christ4ever says:

    Excellent article R.J.! I’m sorry you have had this trouble, but your comments were clearly stated in a simple and concise manner. Not one ruled by emotion. As we know a “certain someone” is apt to do at times.[Depending, of course, upon the subject matter}

    As for Digg, Last year I asked if perhaps I could return and they wouldn’t allow me back onto their website..however I must admit that I didn’t shed too many tears regarding that. Told them so too, LOL!

    As I said R.J., in my opinion your article is par excellence’-the guilty party is clearly seen for who he/they are. Here’s hoping you get justice for what was done to you my friend. And they get exactly that punishment which they so richly deserve for so cavalierly making public that which is meant to be private.

    I wish you and yours a very Merry Christmas! God bless! :)

  9. Nix says:

    I’ve been following this story, in bits and pieces, all over Digg. It seems that the law is no obstacle for many on the left, who are willing to do almost anything to silence the conservative voice. I’m happy to see someone make a stand.
    I’m looking forward to reading the outcome.

  10. Allison Rose says:

    While the truth frees some,it backs some into a desperate corner. Glad to see truth has overcome the shameful means employed by the those who seek to suppress it.

  11. ramfire98 says:

    Outstanding job, sir.

  12. Spindig says:

    Excellent work. Good luck in pursuing this.

  13. Good luck I hope the result ancioso

  14. Boston Locksmith…

    […]NewsJunkiePost Implicated in Computer Hacking to Breach DiggPatriots Yahoo Group « R.J. Carter’s Line in the Sand[…]…

  15. I’m not sure where you’re getting your info, but great topic. I needs to spend a while finding out more or understanding more. Thanks for fantastic information I used to be looking for this info for my mission.

  16. “NewsJunkiePost Implicated in Computer Hacking to Breach DiggPatriots Yahoo Group
    R.J. Carters Line in the Sand” honestly makes me think a little bit more.
    I loved each and every individual piece of it. Thanks for your
    time ,Georgetta

  17. […] on the Yahoo Group DiggPatriot’s by hacking into the group using my account? (Here: http://therjcarter.wordpress.com/2010/12/06/newsjunkiepost-implicated-in-computer-hacking-to-breach-&#8230 ;) And do you remember the response from NJP was that the supposed group insider supposedly […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

